Chicken Flisha Masala

This recipe has a bit of history to it. When Jeff and I first moved into together, I wanted to make him curry. I had never made curry before and wanted to mimic the curry recipe that my mom makes. So going off of my (not-so-reliable) memory I went to the grocery store and picked up what I thought were the ingredients in my mom’s curry. It turns out that I was totally off – her curry is not red and does not have coconut milk. But I ended up making my own version of curry that it pretty damn good and has become a staple in our kitchen.

The name of this recipe is a play on the classic Chicken Tikka Masala. Flisha is my Filipino nickname, which means that most Filipinos I know call me Flisha whereas my non-Pinoy friends call my Flora. I know it’s weird but it’s the Pinoy way. Also, this not an actual tikka masala recipe, which usually has chicken marinated in yogurt. My recipe is more of a shortcut version of curry that I made up but I promise you, it is really easy and really good! It was so good that I forgot to take a picture of the final product for the blog. I got distracted by eating… So make it, and make it now!

Chicken Flisha Masala

Printer-friendly Version

Serves 4

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 small container of Thai Kitchen brand red curry paste (you can definitely use other brands but this one is easy to find in most grocery stores)
  • Coconut milk (not reduced fat)
  • Red curry powder
  • 1 large green pepper, chopped into large chunks
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and diced

Preheat enough oil to cover the bottom of a medium to large pot. Add the chicken to the pot and brown on all sides. You don’t have to cook it all the way through, just until its all brown around. While the chicken is browning, chop the onion. Take chicken out of the pot and put aside.

Add the onion to the pot. Cook on medium heat until soft and translucent, then add garlic. Once the garlic is fragrant, add the tomatoes. While this is working, peel and chop potatoes. At this point, I always mix up the steps with no change in the final product. For some reason I never remember what comes next after the tomatoes, but it doesn’t matter in the end.

Usually at this point I mix in the curry paste with the tomato mixture until dissolved. Then add the potatoes and stir to coat. Then add in the green peppers and the chicken then add the can of coconut milk and stir. Add about a tablespoon of the curry powder and also salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

Bring the curry up to a boil. Turn heat down to medium-low and let it simmer. At this time, taste and make sure that it is spicy enough and has enough salt. If it is not spicy enough, add a bit more curry paste, but be careful because it is potent stuff.

Make rice and continue to simmer the curry with the lid on (or else the curry will get too thick), make sure to stir occasionally or else the bottom will burn. Once the rice is done, the potatoes should be tender and the curry is done. Serve the curry over rice or with store-bought naan.

Tip: I usually make a double batch because left-overs are even better the next day, and it freezes wonderfully. Also, if you want to make your own curry paste and garam masala, go for it! I just saw an episode of Good Eats on garam masala. I’ve just never had all the ingredients or the will to go through all the steps, remember I’m lazy 😉

4 thoughts on “Chicken Flisha Masala

  1. Okay, I have to say … “YUMMERS”!!!!! AND, it is totally freaky that you posted this because my sister-in-law Jo and I were in discussion yesterday about the difference between chicken Tikka Masala and Makhani! So, your Flisha Masala looks wonderful. Correct me if I’m wrong, but this is one of those fabulous dishes in which you can throw in a whole lot of veggies, extra curry etc. depending on your taste/style! I love coconut and curry together! I am for sure making this one … thanks for posting!

    • You can definitely adjust this recipe by adding more or less curry. I tend to add more since Jeff and I like it spicy. You can also add whatever vegetables you want, I’m sure cauliflower and zucchini would be awesome in this.

  2. This sounds fabulous, Flora…..I have always wanted to try cooking with curry, but I’m deathly afraid of over doing it! Dave and I have been at a culinary impasse of late, so this will be a lot of fun to try. Let’s just say that he made mastacholli without boiling the noodles! 😛 I’ll let you know how it goes!

  3. Pingback: Food from My Childhood – Chicken Adobo « Flora's Food Foray

Leave a Reply

