Rosemary-Onion Bread with Blue Cheese Topping and Mixed Green Salad with Apricot Vinaigrette

Say that three times fast, whew! As you can tell, I’m on a little bit of a blue cheese kick. But after this meal, I think I got it out of my system…. for now.

This meal was sooo fun to make, I’ve never made a yeast bread before and this turned out AMAZING!!! This recipe is from Pioneer Woman, I LOVE her! Her recipes are genius, ok check this out: this bread has caramelized onions, rosemary, and blue cheese! What else can you ask for?!?

Ok, maybe I’m getting a little too excited about the bread, but these rolls were really good and pretty easy to make. The blue cheese topping was crunchy and nutty tasting and perfectly balanced by the sweet caramelized onions inside the bread. The bread itself is nice and crisp on the outside with a slightly chewy interior. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.  I will definitely be making these again! And you should make these too! Below is the recipe from PW’s site, I can’t explain her recipe better than her. Did I mention I LOVE her?!

Rosemary-Onion Bread with Blue Cheese Topping

Printer-friendly Version

by Pioneer Woman

Ingredients
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 whole Large Yellow Onion, Sliced
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1-½ cups Warm Water
  • 3 teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 3 cups Bread Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • Freshly Chopped Rosemary To Taste
  • ½ cups Crumbled Blue Cheese

Saute sliced onions and minced garlic in 1 tablespoon butter over medium heat. Cook them until brown and caramelized, about 8 to 10 minutes. Allow to cool for a few minutes.

Pour warm water into a bowl. Sprinkle yeast on top. Add sugar and olive oil, then stir gently with a fork until combined. Set aside.

Combine flour and salt in a separate bowl. Add to the flour mixture your onions, and rosemary in alternating ingredients, stirring gently until dough is combined. (It’ll be sticky!)

Generously flour a flat surface. Knead dough 15 to 20 times, adding flour generously to make it easier to handle. (Keep it sticky, though!) [I ended up using about 1/2 cup of flour, but most of it wasn’t incorporated in the dough]

Drizzle olive oil in a separate bowl, then add your ball of dough, turning to coat. Cover with a tea towel and place in a warm spot for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. [Mine sat for longer, about 3 hours or so, but it ended being ok]

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Divide dough into eight portions [I ended up with 11 portions, weird number I know. I just pulled off hunks of dough so mine were a little less uniform than I would like] and form each into a rough round shape. Place on a baking mat or parchment paper, then cover with a towel and allow to rise for 15 to 20 minutes.

Bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until brown. Brush with butter halfway through baking time.

To top with blue cheese, either place crumbled blue cheese on completely baked rolls and allow it to soften naturally, OR remove the rolls with five minutes baking time left, top with cheese, and return to the oven to finish baking and allow cheese to melt [I did the second option, and it was good].

Even though I could eat these rolls by themselves, one after the other until they are all gone, we had the bread with a mixed greens salad with walnuts, granny smith apples, more blue cheese, and an apricot vinaigrette. I love the taste of blue cheese mixed with the tart apples, and the sweetness from the vinaigrette balances out everything nicely. The salad is super easy to make, especially if you buy pre-washed greens. The vinaigrette recipe I got from Rachael Ray, and it is super easy and only three ingredients.

Mixed Green Salad with Walnuts, Apples, and Blue Cheese with Apricot Vinaigrette

Printer-friendly Version

as adapted from Rachael Ray

  • Pre-washed mixed baby greens (I bought the big container rather than the bag)
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1/3-1/2 cup of walnuts, toasted
  • Good blue cheese, can buy it already in crumbles
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar (I didn’t have any white wine vinegar on hand but substituted red wine vinegar)
  • 1/4 cup apricot preserves
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil, eyeball the amount

Arrange the salad greens in a large bowl. Squeeze the lemon juice over the apple slices to prevent browning. Arrange the apple slices and walnuts over the greens. Top the salad with blue cheese, you can add as much or as little as you like, I think I added about 1/4 to 1/3 of a cup. In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar and apricot preserves. Slowly stream in the extra-virgin olive oil and whisk until combined. Drizzle the vinaigrette over the salad and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Rosemary-Onion Bread with Blue Cheese Topping and Mixed Green Salad with Apricot Vinaigrette

  1. I’m SO glad that you like PW …. I think she is totally cool! AND, this recipe looks amazing … blue cheese rocks. Unfortunately, I will have to wait to try this one until after baby arrives.

  2. Pingback: Asian Noodle Salad « Flora's Food Foray

Leave a Reply

