Greek Week, Day 4: Pork Souvlaki

To start off today’s post, here is a video for inspiration:

I’m sorry for subjecting you to that. I couldn’t help myself.

Silly videos aside, this was really the star of the meal! I think this was the part of the meal that really sealed the deal for Jeff. I mean, what’s not to like!?! Pork, garlic, lemon juice…. all delicious!

Here’s a pic of the whole meal together:

Aside from being delicious, I want to mention that this meal is really good for you, too. Do I need to say more to convince you to make this meal? I only spent a week (+ one day) posting about it! So go make this meal! You don’t have to be like me and make your own pita bread, but I never made pita before so I had to do it. Ok, maybe I didn’t have to…. but I wanted to share this with you on my blog. Yeah, I blaming the blog.

Even though parts of this meal takes some time, it really was easy to make. Actually, after writing these blog posts, it makes me want to make this meal again! I know I won’t get any complaints from Jeff 😉

Pork Souvlaki

Printer-Friendly Version

Ingredients

For the marinade:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, about 1 large lemon
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano

For the pork:

  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 lbs pork loin, trimmed of silver skin and excess fat, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • Wooden skewers, soaked in water for 30 minutes before use

Mix all the ingredients for the marinade in a large zip-top bag. Squish the bag around to mix up the marinade. Season the pork and then place the pork in the bag with the marinade. Toss the pork around to coat with the marinade and then seal the bag, pressing out as much air as possible. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or up to overnight. Make sure you put the zip-top bag over a plate or in some kind of container  just in case the bag leaks.

Turn on the grill to medium-high heat. While the grill is preheating, thread the pork on the skewers. Grill the pork, turning occasionally until the pork is browned on all sides, 8-12 minutes. Allow to rest for a couple minutes and then serve with tzatziki and pita bread. Proceed to devour!

One thought on “Greek Week, Day 4: Pork Souvlaki

Leave a Reply

