Roasted Chickpeas

I’m a snacker. It’s not a great habit but when I have something healthy to nibble on I don’t feel so guilty. I saw this recipe on Steamy Kitchen and I knew I had to make these. Crispy, crunchy, seasoned however I want. And it’s a really easy recipe. In under an hour, I had a delicious, healthy snack ready for munching. It doesn’t get much better than that. You need to definitely make these!

Roasted Chickpeas

Printer-Friendly Version

Adapted from Steamy Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 can of chickpeas (also called garbanzo beans)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • Salt
  • Seasoning of your choice

Preheat oven to 400°F. Drain and rinse the can of chickpeas. Dry the chickpeas with paper towels. You want to dry the chickpeas really well. In a bowl, toss the chickpeas with the olive oil. I started with 1 tablespoon and added a little bit more to coat the chickpeas. Next, season with salt and the seasoning of your choice. Some possible choices of seasonings are: cumin and cayenne pepper, curry powder, garlic powder and paprika, cajun seasoning, old bay. The possibilities are endless.

Roast the chickpeas in the oven for 30-40 minutes, stirring them halfway through. When they are done, they should be crunchy on the outside with a little bit of chew in the middle. They will continue to crisp up while they cool. Snack away!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Chickpeas

  1. I made these with curry powder as my seasoning and they turned out great! Thanks for the quick, tasty recipe, Flora! Keep them coming =)

Leave a Reply

