Noodles with Beef and Broccoli

Who doesn’t love Chinese food? I know I do. I’m not talking authentic-Chinatown-chicken-feet Chinese food, but take-out-MSG-fortune-cookie Chinese food. I’m glad we got that straight.

But, alas, I have been moving around a lot and it’s been an ordeal to find a delivery place that will satisfy our (usually hung-over) cravings without being overly greasy and giving us tummy trubs. So I decided to remedy that and make my own. I mean how hard can it be?

I found this recipe on Steamy Kitchen and I knew I had to make it. It’s fast and easy, and I had most of the ingredients in my fridge and pantry. I added mushrooms to the original recipe because I had them on hand, and hey, they’re delicious so they got stir fried too. Don’t get intimidated by the large ingredient list, it’s actually a really easy recipe and doesn’t take a whole lot of work. It ended up being really yummy and we had plenty leftover (which was delicious straight out of the fridge, btw).

I definitely will make this recipe again when I’m craving Chinese food. Now I need to find a good recipe for crab rangoons. 🙂

Noodles with Beef and Broccoli

Printer-Friendly Version

Adapted from Steamy Kitchen

  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 4 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 4 tablespoons rice wine
  • 2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 pounds beef sirloin, thinly sliced
  • 12 ounces dried noodles, I used chow mein noodles, but any egg noodle works (you could even use spaghetti)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 4 large garlic cloves, crushed and finely chopped
  • 1 pound assorted mushrooms (I used a mixture of shiitake, crimini, and oyster mushrooms)
  • 1 pound broccoli, cut into bite-size florets
  • 1 1/4 cups chicken stock
  • Freshly ground black pepper

In a large bowl, whisk together 1 tablespoon each of the soy sauce, oyster sauce, rice wine, and sesame oil. Add the sugar and whisk until dissolved. Whisk in the cornstarch to dissolve and then add the thinly-sliced beef. Marinate for 20-30 minutes. Drain the marinade and pat the beef dry, this will help the beef to brown.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook the noodles 1 minute shy of done according to the package directions. Drain and reserve until later.

Heat 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil in a large saute pan or wok over high heat. Add half of the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 10 seconds. Be careful not of burn the garlic, this will cause the dish to become bitter. Add the beef (don’t crowd the pan) and brown on both sides, about 1-2 minutes on each side. You may need to cook the beef in a couple batches to make sure the beef browns nicely. Remove from the pan and reserve on a plate.

Heat another tablespoon of vegetable oil and add the remaining garlic. Cook for 10 seconds and then add the mushrooms. Cook until the mushrooms are golden brown and remove from the pan and reserve on the same plate.

Heat the remaining tablespoon of oil in the pan and saute the broccoli until the oil coats the broccoli. Add 1/4 cup of chicken stock and cover the pan with a lid. Steam the broccoli until it is just tender, about 3-5 minutes. Transfer the broccoli to the plate.

Add the remaining cup of chicken stock and 3 tablespoons of soy sauce, oyster sauce, and rice wine to the skillet and boil over high heat. Add the noodles and cook for 2-3 minutes until the liquid has been mostly absorbed. Add the beef, mushrooms, and broccoli to the pan and toss to combine. Season with black pepper to taste. Serve immediately! Makes delicious leftovers (yeah, I might have eaten this cold out of the fridge…)

Leave a Reply

