Harry Potter and the Jack Lalanne Juicer

No, this isn’t the 8th installment of the series or Daniel Radcliffe’s post-Potter gig on QVC; rather, it’s my attempt at making pumpkin juice!!

If you haven’t noticed by now, I’m a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I mean my dog is name after Albus Dumbledore….

Albus Pucklesprucks Sweetness Brian Crapko

So, after watching the penultimate film of the franchise I was inspired to make some Harry Potter-related food. One of the foods that I have been dying to try is pumpkin juice! It appears many times in the books and films, I had to make it! Right? right…..? At least that’s what I told myself when I bought myself a small pumpkin:

Get ready to be juiced!

And I hauled out the Jack Lalanne Juicer. Jeff and I got this a several years back when Jeff got really into juicing for all the health benefits. My fave combo was carrot and apple juice. YUM!

So I peeled, gut, and cut the pumpkin up into chunks that would be small enough to fit in the mouth of the juicer. I also washed a couple Macintosh apples to juice along with the pumpkin because I found a couple of recipes that called for adding apple juice to the pumpkin.

And this was the result of all my juicing. Delicious, orange, fragrant, pumpkin juice.

I also saved all the pulp from the juicing process. This is going to make some delicious pumpkin bread.

I allowed the pumpkin juice to chill for a couple of hours and I stirred in some cinnamon to spice it up a little. Yum! It was really good and surprisingly refreshing. Jeff wasn’t a huge fan but I really liked it. Pumpkin juice was definitely fun to make and I got to try something that I’ve been reading about for years, so I think this endeavor was definitely a success! Hopefully this will be the first of many Harry Potter themed recipes; I really want to try treacle tart, butterbeer, and the sweets that appear on the trolley on the Hogwarts Express! Yeah, I’m a nerd… but I love it!!

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Jack Lalanne Juicer

Leave a Reply

